So…you want to live in the Ozarks!

3 Feb

I was looking around the internet for an angle for a new piece and I ran across a group of people who are wanting to, as they put it, live off the grid. No electricity, indoor plumbing, telephones, those things our folks worked so hard to get. I remember how tickled Grandad was when he finally got indoor plumbing. I can hear him now “I won’t use that dadburned thing, I don’t *hit where I sleep”. There were a whole lot of people in that generation who thought the same thing. Now were catching wind of those people wanting to revert back to the simple times. That might not be a bad idea with the way the economy is headed and the current rage for organic produce. Farmers Markets are sprouting up all over the place, it seems to me as a youngster we had farmers markets on nearly every busy corner, then we called the fruit stands. There were tomato factories all over the Ozarks in every small town it seemed.

In my search I found an article “The Success and Unsuccess of It All” that really hit the mark. Penned by Victoria Drake and her adventure into our hills, complete with all the up’s and down’s of trying to make it on nothing more than a dream. Sound familiar? I was caught off guard by the fact she hadn’t really spent a hard winter in the hills, or thought about how she was going to make the land payment with no income, not to mention how she was going to feed herself. However bad it seemed she had the guts to give it a go, you have to give her credit. I think that it might be best for all us “Hillbillies” to make a few suggestions so she might get a good foothold this next go round. Suggestions and ideas from some of us old timers might make the difference. Show some Ozarks spunk and post them up here in the comments section so she can find them.

5 Responses to “So…you want to live in the Ozarks!”

  1. Victoria - Ozarks Crescent Mural February 3, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Your grandad reminds me of my mother who when she married my father moved from city life to life on the farm. This was way before the term “off the grid” became chic and she recalls those times with a much different slant than how my generation looks upon the idea of living without electricity, running water and modern conveniences.

    I’ve got to add that I had a fantastic time in my several years (on and off) in the Ozarks. I loved my piece of land. I loved my bus and I loved swimming in the creeks and all the people I met. I especially loved walking and driving the roads. I’ve honestly never felt more at home in my life than in the Ozarks, which is exactly why I plan on returning and settling there. I’ve traveled all of the lower 48 states, so I’m glad there’s one place that calls out to me.

    True, I didn’t have heat for the winter, so I typically migrated north for the season, but I was in the Ozarks on my own and all alone and survived one of the coldest spells I’ve ever experienced next to Boston, so I do know what the cold is like in the Ozarks, and strangely enough, this turns out to be one of my fondest memories. Funny, that my aunt had found an antique mink coat that somehow had been passed onto me because I think between that coat, my many quilts, and some good brisk walking around, I did okay.

    My story’s not much different from how most people live. How many Americans would lose their place if they missed their next rent or mortgage payment due to unemployment or such? This is a paycheck-to-paycheck society, so that’s a common story nowadays and certainly not exclusive to me. It’s not a good model for living, that’s for sure, and that’s why I will own everything, cars, land, a home, and all property outright from now on and have a nicely-funded emergency fund too. I’m well into that now and grateful for the opportunity to be able to create a solid foundation and future.

    I’d lived off the grid very successfully prior to this experience and that’s why I highlight the differences in my guest post for Tiny House Blog.

    Thanks for the post here! It’s always fun to read about yourself. See you in the Ozarks this year.

    • earthmonster February 3, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      Your personal story mirrors the Ozarks people, many immigrants with nothing, scratching out a place in these hills. Living on what they could produce themselves, self reliance was our cornerstone. Thus the image of the hillbilly hanging meat in a smokehouse, canning, raising goats, and pretty much being weary of outsiders because of the moonshine still over the hill. It was all for a reason, it had it’s purpose and it gave our folks the ability to withstand hard times like the great depression without suffering like some did. Heck I always hear their children say “we never knew any different” when asked about the hard times.

      On another note, Here is something you might want to see…
      Ozark's Agent Blog
      One of our readers happens to be a great resource for land and homesteads.

  2. Victoria - Ozarks Crescent Mural February 6, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    That’s a gorgeous picture. Looks like he handles real estate around the Table Rock area. Unfortunately, I’m not so much interested in southwestern Missouri. I’m looking in south-central and southeastern Missouri, although if he reads this and handles inexpensive real estate in that part of the Ozarks, he can holler at me. I’m looking for a small house, mobile home or cabin on 1-3 acres or in a very small town for $12,000 to $18,000 toward the end of this year 2011 or beginning of next 2012. I’m not a big commission-maker for him so he may not be interested 🙂 And if anyone is shocked by these prices, they’re out there. I’ve chronicled several on my blog and keep a constant list of new ones that come up, whether I blog about them or not.

    • earthmonster February 6, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      I’ll bet he has property listed across the lower part of the state.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So…you want to live in the Ozarks! (via Hootentown) « Ozarksagent’s Weblog - February 3, 2011

    […] I was looking around the internet for an angle for a new piece and I ran across a group of people who are wanting to, as they put it, live off the grid. No electricity, indoor plumbing, telephones, those things our folks worked so hard to get. I remember how tickled Grandad was when he finally got indoor plumbing. I can hear him now "I won't use that dadburned thing, I don't *hit where I sleep". There were a whole lot of people in that generation … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

